top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKerubo Karanja

WHAT ENTREPRENEURS SAID ON THE CAFÉ CONSTRUCT PODCAST

Every season The Café Construct Podcast strives to bring insightful conversations on careers within the Construction industry.

Scattered all throughout with different guests there are treasures to guide you and I thought it best to go down memory lane.


See the thoughts of these different entrepreneurs and learn from them.


Q: How do you overcome career stagnation?

A: You need to do something that gives you cash and is fulfilling. Living consciously and intentionally instead of being passive- sending cvs and playing the waiting game. Ask yourself what action you can take to bring fulfilment even before the money.


Who said it?: Interior Designer Fraciah Karindi, CEO - House of Fraciah




Q: Do you have moments of self doubt and self criticism?

A: Funny story; Before I posted or shared what we had to offer, I had been sitting on this product for almost six months….as creatives and perfectionists we always come up with all sorts of excuses not to put our work out there. But it's the only way to really know even if it's not the easiest thing to do.


Who said it?: Product Designer Ruth Lelei, CEO - WhiteBull Kenya


SN 01 EP 07: The Signs were There.



Q:What should I do before starting my own firm?

A: Getting that right experience is crucial before starting up on your own. There is great wisdom in knowing what you don't know. You should be able to identify your inadequacies in information and the right firm to grow and learn under. In employment, keep an open mind, prove your worth and any good firm will increase your salary and responsibilities accordingly.


Who said it?: Architect Gurmukh Panesar CEO - Grasp Design

SN 01 EP 13: Coming into your Own



Q: How did you get your finances on track?

A: Have a structure. I had to sit down with an Accountant to take me through all the book-keeping involved. Also, before stepping out on my own I had done a cash flow projection for the first year and knew what was expected of me in terms of income and expense obligations like VAT, Income Tax, PAYE, NSSF and NHIF…I set a salary target as well. It's important not to spend directly from the account; you have to earn a salary.


Who said it?: Quantity Surveyor Diana Mumbua CEO - Epic Value Consultants

SN 02 EP 07: Starting your Own Firm



Q: During those difficult periods in business, how do you know whether it's time to give up or just hang in there?

A: For me, giving up is not in my DNA, I am those people more likely to die trying. I would pray to God - if this one is not for me please let it fail early because I will keep going even though it's not going anywhere.


Before I left, I was a good worker and cultivated relationships. People I had worked with before knew me because I would deliver even if I was not the senior-most Engineer in the room. I could speak up, deliver my work and was made responsible for jobs.


I had faith that the connections would pan out - maybe not immediately, but they would pan out . Family is also very important. It keeps you going in your entrepreneurial journey. They can be there for you so that your day to day issues can be managed. You may not need to make a profit from day one but you still have other responsibilities that you need to be meeting. These relationships and connections can be tapped into when business is not coming in very quickly.


Who said it?: Engineer Mercy Mugure CEO - EngPlan Consulting Engineers

SN 02 EP16: Engineer in Business



Q: How can a young Practice better their chances against older existing Practices?

A: As a young firm, do things that the older firms are not doing. Find a nichè, so that you are not competing too much with these older firms that have established strong networks and connections.


Who said it?: Urban Planner Kelvin Ritho CEO - Ripple Planning Associates

SN 03 EP 04: Urban Planner in Private Practice



Q: How do you build a good reputation as you build your business?

A: We build our business through referrals and the only way that can happen is by doing a good job and satisfying the majority of clients, if not all. It's promising what you know you can deliver and delivering what you promise. What we call the triple triangle : Time, Cost and Quality -make sure these are achieved at all times. Not nailing this, is what tarnishes the reputation of Kenyan Contractors.


Who said it?:Contractors Kimari Ndonye and Joseph Ntimama Founders - BotBuilt Construction Limited

SN 02 EP 13: Starting our Construction Firm

bottom of page